L’officina de l’amore | Über die Oper

L‘officina de l‘amore

Opera buffa in three acts
Book by Giovanni Remonato and Johannes Glück
Lyrics by Giovanni Remonato
Music by Johannes Glück

Cast

4 female singers (alto, soprano, mezzo, coloratura soprano)
4 male singers (baritone, bass, tenor, bass-baritone)
Choir (min. 8: S1, S2, A1, A2, T1, T2, B1, B2)

Orchestra

2 Fl, 1 Cl, 1 Ob, 1 Bsn, 2 Hrn, 1 Trp, 1 Tbn, Timp/Perc, Cemb, Strings (min. 5-4-3-2-1)

Vienna-Ottakring. Present time.

Car mechanic Adem (30) has given up on love. The object of his desire is the classic Alfa Romeo Giulietta belonging to his customer – and romantic admirer – Isabella (60). In order to get hold of the car Adem pretends to be interested in marrying Isabella. Adem‘s boss Drago (54) is annoyed. He has a soft spot for Isabella but she‘s always been ignoring him. During a rain shower, student Julia (25) enters the repair shop with her broken bicycle. Adem and Julia make love and fall in love. Adem‘s mother and a bunch of Turkish relatives drop in. They want to wed him to his cousin Cennet. Adem refuses. He introduces Isabella as his bride and agrees to marry her. Julia meets Cennet and learns about the marriage swindle. The two young women fall in love with each other. Adem tries to get Julia back but fails. Eventually, Isabella finds out about Adem being a con artist and dies broken-hearted. Drago reanimates her with a car battery. They decide to enjoy their sunset years together in France. Isabella gifts Adem with Giulietta. Adem won the car but lost love.

The tradition of Italian opera

gets a fresh, contemporary makeover in „L‘officina de l‘amore“. The characters in our funny, fast moving plot use a lot of contemporary colloquial speech – exclusively in Italian, the most beautiful and singable language in the world, making even words for swearing and car repair tools sound poetic. Subtitles on stage provide entertaining translations. The score is classicist, melodic, dynamic, with occasional easter eggs of jazz and romanticism.

Opera lovers

and music connoisseurs of all ages are going to enjoy “L‘officina de l‘amore“. But our contemporary characters, the entertaining story and the catchy score will also win new audiences for opera.

Johannes Glück

Johannes Glück(*1975) is an alumnus of the Vienna Conservatory, the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop and Celler Schule. The first show he scored for full orchestra was “Das Dingsbums das man Liebe nennt“, an operetta produced in 1996. He composed the songs for „Das Greingold“ (2002) and wrote book, music and lyrics for the hit musical „Krawutzi Kaputzi!“ (2007). Johannes lives and works in Vienna. See www.johannesglueck.com for more info.

Giovanni Remonato

Giovanni Remonatowas born 1982 in Italy. He studied German philology at the universities of Undine and Klagenfurt. In 2015 he graduated from the University of Verona with a doctoral thesis on the Holocaust in comics. Giovanni is an active researcher, literary critic and freelance translator and works for a film production company.

L’officina de l’amore | Über die Oper

L‘officina de l‘amore

Opera buffa in drei Akten
Buch von Giovanni Remonato und Johannes Glück
Liedtexte von Giovanni Remonato
Musik von Johannes Glück

Besetzung

4 Damen (Alt, Sopran, Mezzo, Koloratursopran)
4 Herren (Bariton, Bass, Tenor, Bassbariton)
Chor (mind. 8: S1, S2, A1, A2, T1, T2, B1, B2)

Orchester

2 Fl, 1 Kl, 1 Ob, 1 Fag, 2 Hrn, 1 Trp, 1 Pos, Pk/Schl, Cemb, Streicher (mind. 5-4-3-2-1)

Wien-Ottakring. Gegenwart.

Automechaniker Adem (30) hat die Hoffnung auf die Liebe aufgegeben. Das Objekt seiner Begierde ist der Alfa Romeo Giulietta seiner Kundin und Verehrerin Isabella (60). Um den Oldtimer zu bekommen, macht er Isabella Aussichten auf eine Heirat. Adems Chef Drago (54) ist wütend, steht er doch selbst auf Isabella, die ihn verschmäht. Kurz drauf lernt Adem jedoch die Studentin Julia (25) kennen und lieben. Dann taucht auch noch Adems Mutter samt türkischer Verwandtschaft auf und will ihn mit seiner Kusine Cennet verheiraten. Er weigert sich und stellt Isabella als seine Braut vor. Julia trifft auf Cennet und erfährt von Adems Heiratsschwindel. Die beiden verlieben sich. Adem kann Julia nicht zurückgewinnen. Schließlich erfährt auch Isabella von Adems Doppelleben und stirbt an gebrochenem Herzen. Drago kann sie mit einer Autobatterie wiederbeleben. Die beiden beschließen, ihren Lebensabend gemeinsam in Frankreich zu verbringen. Isabella schenkt Adem Giulietta. Adem hat das Auto gewonnen, aber die Liebe verloren.

Die Tradition der Italienischen Oper

wird von „L‘officina de l‘amore“ in die heutige Zeit transportiert. Die Charaktere der heiteren, zügigen Handlung benutzen zeitgenössische Umgangssprache – aber ausschließlich in Italienisch, der schönsten und singbarsten Sprache der Welt, in der selbst Schimpfworte und Autowerkzeuge wie reinste Poesie klingen. Untertitel sorgen für eine unterhaltsame Übersetzung. Die Musik ist klassizistisch, melodisch, dynamisch, mit kleinen „Easter Eggs“ aus Romantik und Jazz.

Opernliebhaber

von jung bis alt werden ihren Spaß an „L‘officina de l‘amore“ haben. Musikalische Feinspitze kommen ebenso auf ihre Kosten wie neues Publikum, das wir durch die lustige Handlung und die zeitgenössischen Figuren für das Musiktheater gewinnen werden.

Johannes Glück

(*1975) absolvierte das Konservatorium Wien, den BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop und die Celler Schule. Sein erstes abendfüllendes Bühnenwerk mit vollem Orchester war die Operette „Das Dingsbums das man Liebe nennt“ (1996). Es folgten u.a. das Singspiel „Das Greingold“ (2002) und das Musical „Krawutzi Kaputzi!“ (2007). Johannes lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Mehr unter www.johannesglueck.at

Giovanni Remonato

wurde 1982 in Italien geboren. Er studierte Germanistik an der Universität Undine und Klagenfurt. 2015 beendete er sein Doktorat an der Universität Verona mit einer Dissertation zum Thema Comics und Holocaust. Neben dem Interesse für die Forschung und der Tätigkeit als literarischer Kritiker ist er freier Übersetzer und Mitarbeiter in einer Filmproduktionsagentur.